Blueberry Power Muffins

During the winter I love to bake, but don’t really like all of the over-sugary desserts. Lately I’ve been trying to sub in healthier ingredients to give my baked goods an extra touch of goodness. With these Blueberry Power Muffins, I started with a fabulous recipe from Damn Delicious (a really great food blog if you haven’t checked her out yet), then added a few of my favorite things. The extra goodies include flaxseed, walnuts, and I used white whole wheat instead of regular all purpose flour.

During the winter I love to bake, but don’t really like all of the over-sugary desserts. Lately I’ve been trying to sub in healthier ingredients to give my baked goods an extra touch of goodness. With these Blueberry Power Muffins, I started with a fabulous recipe from Damn Delicious (a really great food blog if you haven’t checked her out yet), then added a few of my favorite things. The extra goodies include flaxseed, walnuts, and I used white whole wheat instead of regular all purpose flour.

Some of these ingredients have benefits to be aware of. My favorite is flaxseed. The benefits are huge ranging from being a phytoestrogen which means it has high levels of antioxidants (to help fight against disease and cancer); it has a good dose of Omega-3 fatty acids (research suggesting leading to a healthy heart as well as acting as an anti-inflammatory), fiber (good for digestion and ridding the body of toxins), and other vitamins and minerals that are necessary for good health but aren’t readily available in our typical Western diet.*

These muffins are a great little treat, as well as an easy breakfast for on the go. Next time I make these I will sub in coconut sugar I think. I’ve been using it as a sugar substitute lately and apparently it has benefits such as amino acids and minerals. Just food for thought. Happy New Year.

*Sources: http://www.nutrition-and-you.com/flax-seed.html

Blueberry Power Muffins

(Printable Recipe)
Adapted from Damn Delicious.
Yield: 20-24 muffins. Total Time: 30 min.
Kitchen Tested

Ingredients:

1 cup white whole wheat flour, I use King Arthur Flour
1 cup rolled oats, plus more for topping
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed (or coconut sugar)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 cup plain yogurt, plain kefir works great too
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup blueberries, I use frozen
1 cup walnuts, halved or chopped
2 tbsp flaxseeds
Zest of 1 lemon

2 tbsp coarse sugar, for topping

How To:

Preheat oven to 400º F. Prepare two, standard sized, muffin pans with liners.In a large bowl combine flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In another medium bowl combine melted butter, yogurt, egg, and vanilla. Pour over the dry mixture and gently mix until blended, taking care not to overmix. Add blueberries, walnuts, flaxseeds, and lemon zest. Gently fold in.

Scoop batter evenly into muffin pans, I like to use an icecream scooper. Sprinkle the muffins with oats and a little sugar each. Place in oven and bake for 15 minutes (depending on oven disparities, check for doneness and cook for another 5 minutes if need be). Remove from oven and let cool in pan for five minutes before removing to a cooling rack.
 

Leave a Reply

